Myanmar lawyer wins International Women of Courage Award

Myintzu Win is one of 13 recipients of this year’s award, which is given annually by the US State Department

Myintzu Win, a lawyer who has long championed marginalised communities in Myanmar, was named one of this year’s recipients of the International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award on Monday. 

The award, given annually by the US State Department, recognises women across the world who courageously advocate for peace, justice, human rights, gender equality, and the empowerment of women and girls.

Myintzu Win received her award on Monday alongside 11 other women leaders and one group at a ceremony held at the White House in Washington, D.C. and attended by US First Lady Jill Biden and Secretary of State Antony Blinken.

Other recipients were from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cuba, Ecuador, The Gambia, Iran, Japan, Morocco, Nicaragua, and Uganda.

As a lawyer, Myintzu Win has defended more than 500 clients—often pro bono—focussing on women, children, persons with disabilities, and members of the LGBTQI+ community. . .

Subscribe for full access to

Get unlimited access to high-quality reporting from the frontlines and support independent journalism.

Subscribe Now

Related Articles

Back to top button