The generals cast their votes in Naypyitaw 

Military commander-in-chief Senior General Min Aung Hlaing and other top generals cast their votes on Sunday morning at the No. 1 polling station in Anawrahta ward in Naypyitaw’s Zeyar Thiri Township.

After voting, the Senior General said: “We just have to accept the result that comes from the people’s desire, we can’t deny it.”

“I hope for the best for our country,” said Defence Minister Lieutenant General Sein Win before casting his vote.   

The deputy commander-in-chief, the Chief of General Staff, and the ministers for defence, home affairs and border affairs also voted at the Anawratha ward polling station. The chair of the military-backed Union Solidarity and Development Party, Than Htay, is competing for a seat in Zayar Thiri township. His main rival is Dr Moe Swe of the NLD.

Photos by Nyan Hlaing Lin

Related Articles

Back to top button