15 village administrators resign in Sagaing’s Pale Township

At least 15 village administrators have resigned since the beginning of the month in Sagaing Region’s Pale Township, according to local sources.

The resignations began after the Pale People’s Defence Force (PDF) released a statement on July 29 warning administrators not to support the regime’s efforts to rule.    

“I’ve seen 15 administrators resign so far. Some posted their reasons on social media. Others will follow, I’m sure,” said one resident of the area. 

One village administrator who asked to remain anonymous said that he resigned because he didn’t want to collaborate with a junta that oppresses ordinary citizens.

“I don’t want to work with them anymore because they keep killing civilians, and do nothing to protect us [administrators]. 

We have to stand on the side of the civilians,” he said.

He added that he was already a village administrator prior to the February 1 military coup. He also said that he has had no response to his resignation from the regime.

Since early May, there have been numerous attacks all over the country on local officials suspected of acting as junta informants. 

A Pale PDF spokesperson told Myanmar Now that the warning issued last week means that from now on, anyone who cooperates with the regime can be considered a target.

“Whoever supports the military council’s administrative mechanisms will be regarded as an enemy of the people and will be eliminated,” he said.

Local sources told Myanmar Now that at least 10 alleged military informants have been killed in the area since July.

Although the deadline for resignations was originally set for August 1, this has been extended by one week, according to sources close to the PDF. 

According to a list made by the township’s general administration office in 2019, Pale has a total of 189 villages, each with its own administrator.

There have already been a number of resignations by local administrators in various part of Sagaing Region in recent months.

In early June, a village administrator in Khin Oo Township stepped down shortly after the shooting death of Ye Tun, the administrator for Paw Oo ward in Taze Township. Two other local officials were also killed in the township later that month.

Six village administrators resigned in Kalay Township in June, followed by eight more in Kawlin Township on July 4.

There have also been unconfirmed reports that Soe Myint, the administrator of Nanda Win ward in Monywa, the reginal capital, submitted his resignation recently after contracting Covid-19.

Related Articles

Back to top button